成立宣言

民主思路創立於香港最動盪不穩的歷史時刻之一,凝聚了我們一班創辦人為香港尋找新出路,並以以下的成立宣言,創辦了民主思路:

修補裂痕 重新上路

我們走在一起,只因為一個共同信念﹕香港不能繼續停滯不前,必須走出目前管治困局。

「建立民主、發展善治」一直是落實「一國兩制」過程中最具指標性、最富挑戰性的課題。最具指標性,是因為如果香港特區能按《基本法》實行普選,香港特區將會是中華人民共和國第一個實現民主的城市,亦象徵著「一國兩制」的成功落實。最富挑戰性是因為在實現民主過程中,如何在「一國兩制」中合理地平衡各方政治訴求實非易事。但有一點可以肯定,在「一國兩制」及《基本法》之下,國家在香港特區行使主權和實行普選無論在憲制上、政治上、或理論上也沒有、也不應存在根本性矛盾。

今天政改頻臨失敗,社會出現嚴重分化,中港互信更跌至最低點,動搖了港人及國際社會對「一國兩制」的信心。但此時此刻,也正是香港急需面對眾多刻不容緩、影响深遠的抉擇的時候─在如何推動民主人權、提高管治質素、促進社會公平、改善中港關係、以至維持可持續發展等環節上,香港再沒有蹉跎歲月的空間,我們必須有所作為,尋求突破。

我們這群人對香港特區前景極為擔憂,特別關注民主發展、「一國兩制」這條路該如何走下去。面對當前破局,我們認為有必要開拓一條新的路線,以為香港爭取一套符合港人期望的民主制度,並積極凝聚社會共識,改善管治質素。我們決心爭取社會最廣泛的支持,盡最大努力重建各方互信,堅守原則;在「放棄真普選」與「全面對抗」這二元對立之外,堅持對話,另覓出路。我們清楚此路惟艱,但仍堅信民主制度的長進,定必建基於公平、包容、和而不同等根本精神。我們要癒合社會上之政治創傷,堅定而進取地蓄積民主力量,推動民主善治。

換言之,我們要在民主發展、「一國兩制」之路上,重新出發!

民主思路

2015年6月

OUR MANIFESTO

Path of Democracy was founded at one of the most turbulent times of Hong Kong’s history. Our founders came together to seek a new way out, and laid down principles in a manifesto that became the credo of Path of Democracy. So the Manifesto reads:

Time for healing in a new beginning

We have come together because we share one common belief: Hong Kong cannot afford to stop in its tracks; we have to find a way out of the current morass as regards the issue of governance.

In our search for realization of the “One Country Two Systems”, the pursuit of democracy and improved governance have always been our most iconic as well as challenging tasks. Iconic because if the Hong Kong SAR can achieve universal suffrage according to the Basic Law, we shall be the first democratic city in China, by which the success of the One Country Two Systems is to be measured. Challenging because in the process of achieving full democracy, how to balance different political interests and aspirations is by no means an easy task. Be that as it may, one thing is certain, under the concept of One Country Two Systems and the Basic Law, there is no , and should not be any fundamental conflict, be it constitutional, political, or theoretical, between China exercising her sovereign power over Hong Kong and Hong Kong practising full democracy.

Today, political reform in Hong Kong is facing yet another saddening defeat. Not only that, but along the way, our society is being deeply divided, mutual trust and confidence between China and Hong Kong is at its lowest point, and our belief and the belief of the international community in the success of One Country Two Systems are also badly shaken. We are facing many urgent and momentous decisions. How to raise the standard of democracy and human rights, improve the quality of governance, strive for social justice, establish a better relationship with China, maintain sustainable development, are but a few of such pressing questions. There is no room for procrastination. We must act incisively to look for a breakthrough.

We are a group of people who are deeply concerned about the future of Hong Kong. We are particularly concerned about the development of democracy and the fulfillment of the promise of One Country Two Systems. We must forge a new road in face of the present setbacks. We must strive for full democracy as aspired by the people of Hong Kong; we must search for and precipitate societal consensus, and work on improving the quality of governance. We are determined to fight for the widest community support; do our utmost to build on mutual trust and confidence. We shall hold fast to our principles and seek engagement and solution from the two opposing extremes of giving up on democracy and antagonistic opposition. We are fully aware of the pitfalls and obstacles that will be in our way, but we firmly believe democracy must be built on fair, inclusive, and pluralistic principles. We must tend to and heal our political wounds, steadfastly fight for and consolidate moderate democratic forces in order to achieve real and long-lasting democracy and better governance.

In other words, we need to begin a new journey on our road to democracy and One Country Two Systems!